Archive

Archive for March 20, 2010

early mornings

March 20, 2010 Leave a comment

6am days are the best.

and i’ve been having many of them. 7am bike rides to uni, though lung bursting and thigh burning towards the end, clear my mind and prep me for the rest of the day. actually, bike rides to uni at any time are good. but i like it most in the early mornings.

the sun usually peeks out over the horizon around 5.30am and it is usually out by 6.

6am in march

i might try biking to uni at 6am one day to hit the gym. i’ll probably only to it that ONE time and that will be it for the rest of the semester.

every day i am amazed at the fact that i am here. regardless of how tough school is, how much work there is to do, how far behind i am (well everyone pretty much is)….i am still happy. no PMS so far.

in 3 weeks, i have heard the stories of many of my classmates. we see each other every day we’re pretty much family.

i was telling a classmate my story of how i got here over dinner last night. verbalising my thoughts made me realise that being here was really a natural progression of the culmination of events over the past 5 years.

i wonder if i will ever lose this sense of wonder or feeling of gratitude.

i hope i never.

a dear friend gave me a quote a couple of days ago and i am very sure it will remind me time and again why i have decided to sacrifice the next 4 years of my life by going back to school…especially so during the moments when the going gets so tough that i feel like giving up.

“The young heart that says ‘no’ to love,
Saves himself from the ignominy of defeat;
but forsakes the honour of ever wearing the golden crown.”

-Frank Swettenham (British governor in Colonial Malaya)

Whatever the madness is, this is only the beginning.

I can’t wait to watch the story unfold.

Categories: Uncategorized